Filmmaking Directory




Screenwriting,Filmmaking, and Acting
Scriptologist Blogs


Message Board

Message Board


Film News

Filmmakers Nominated For Awards 1/18/05

The Writers Guild of America (WGA), Directors Guild of America (DGA), American Society of Cinematographers (ASC), and American Cinema Editors (ACE) have released their lists of nominees for awards ceremonies they are holding early this year.

The WGA will hold its 57th Annual Writers Guild Awards in February and has nominated the following screenwriters for best original screenplay: John Logan (The Aviator); Charlie Kaufman (Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind); Zach Braff (Garden State); Keir Pearson and Terry George (Hotel Rwanda); and Bill Condon (Kinsey).

WGA nominees for best adapted screenplay include Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke (Before Sunset ); Tina Fey (Mean Girls); Paul Haggis (Million Dollar Baby); Jose Rivera (The Motorcycle Diaries); and Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor (Sideways).

At the WGA Awards, the Guild will also honor screenwriter and playwright David Mamet with the Screen Laurel Award, which is given to guild members "who [have] advanced the literature of the motion picture and made outstanding contributions to the profession of the screenwriter."

The Directors Guild of America will hold its 57th Annual DGA Awards at the end of January and has nominated the following film directors for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2004:

Clint Eastwood (Million Dollar Baby), Marc Forster ( Finding Neverland), Taylor Hackford (Ray), Alexander Payne (Sideways), and Martin Scorsese (The Aviator).

The American Society of Cinematographers will hold its 19th Annual American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards in February and has nominated the following cinematographers: Dion Beebe and Paul Cameron (Collateral), Caleb Deschanel (The Passion of the Christ ), Bruno Delbonnel (A Very Long Engagement), Pawel Edelman (Ray), and Robert Richardson (The Aviator).

The American Cinema Editors (ACE) will hold its 55th Annual ACE Eddie Awards in February and will honor film editors for the best editing in 2004.

ACE's nominees for best edited dramatic feature film are Thelma Schoonmaker (The Aviator ), Jim Miller & Paul Rubell (Collateral), Matt Chesse (Finding Neverland), Sally Menke (Kill Bill: Volume 2), Virginia Katz (Kinsey), and Joel Cox ( Million Dollar Baby).

ACE's nominees for best edited comedy or musical feature film are Julie Monroe
(De-Lovely), Valdis Óskarsdóttir (Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind),
Stephen Schaffer (The Incredibles), Paul Hirsch (Ray), and Kevin Tent (Sideways).

At the ACE Awards, the American Cinema Editors will give Director James L. Brooks the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award. Brooks recently wrote and directed the comedic film, Spanglish, starring Adam Sandler and Tea Leoni.


Site Map   About Us   Q&A   Directory   Classifieds   Contact Us   Bookmark Us   Article Feeds Article Feeds

©Copyright 2003-2006 Portable Shopper, LLC. All rights reserved. Copyright Notice   Privacy Statement